Nintendo Announces E3 Plans, No Live Press Conference

Nintendo changed their E3 strategy last year, when it avoided hosting a live press conference, instead opting to release a pre-recorded Nintendo Direct. Nintendo will once again be without a live E3 press conference, and instead will be offering a host of unique experiences under the banner “Play Nintendo”.

Super Smash Bros. - Captain Olimar pic 3

Instead of hosting a Nintendo Direct during E3 there will be a Nintendo Digital Event, which will air June 11 2am AEST (June 11 9am PT/12pm ET/5pm GMT). This newly announced event will “reveal and provide further details about the gaming experiences on the way for Nintendo platforms in 2014 and beyond.”

Alongside the Nintendo Digital Event will be a Super Smash Bros. Invitational which will take place at the NOKIA Theatre in Los Angeles during E3. The event will bring 16 highly skilled Super Smash Bros. players together to test their skills in a tournament featuring the Wii U version of Super Smash Bros. The event will be streamed live, allowing fans at home to get an extended look at the highly anticipated fighter.

Lastly, Nintendo will be hosting a Nintendo Treehouse: Live @ E3 stream that will take place during all hours of the E3 show. The stream will focus on in-depth game demos live from the Nintendo booth at E3, which Nintendo describes will allow fans to “experience the Nintendo games at E3 like never before.”

Little is known regarding what will be on shown throughout the Nintendo Digital Event, but the avoidance of using the Nintendo Direct title could perhaps hint at this event being bigger than your typical Direct showcase.e3-future

Analog Addiction will be covering all of Nintendo’s unique E3 showcases when E3 takes place June 10-12, 2014.


Jamie Briggs manages Analog Addiction and you can like them on Facebook, follow his daily life on Twitter @JamieAA, his personal blog and his videos on YouTube.

About these ads

One thought on “Nintendo Announces E3 Plans, No Live Press Conference

  1. Pingback: 3DS ‘Pok√©mon Ruby/Sapphire’ Remasters Announced | Analog Addiction

Leave a Reply as a Guest, or Log In

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s